2018 Hearthstone All-Star Invitational – Preview

Hearthstone All-Star Invitational Event. Hearthstone All-Star 2018 Taiwan

The 2018 Hearthstone All-Star Invitational returns from Dec. 28 to Dec. 30! The event will be held at the Taipei Heping Basketball Gymnasium in Taiwan. The three-day event will feature 16 of the top Hearthstone players, with special invites for players from Macau, Hong Kong, and Taiwan. Your favorite western streamers and competitors will be there as well.

Event information

The event will begin on Dec. 28 at 18:30 GMT+8 / 11:30 a.m. CET / 5:30 a.m. ET, starting off with a Community Night event featuring show matches and other yet-to-be-announced activities. There will be an all-female streamer Hearthstone show with player rosters including Jia “Jia” Aquino Dee from the Philippines, “Jinny” from South Korea, and “Fish” and “Babybaby1111” from Taiwan.

The official 2018 Hearthstone All-Star Invitational tournament will take place on Dec. 29 and 30, starting at 11 a.m. GMT+8 / 10 p.m. ET (on Dec. 28/29) / 4 a.m. CET. So far, six players have been revealed with the official trailer, three international invites and three seed players from Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macau. The remaining five international invites will be announced later, whereas the remaining five players representing Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macau will be determined by regional community voting from Nov. 24 to Nov 29. The complete player roster will be announced on Nov. 30.

International Invites

Hunterace

Casper “Hunterace” Notto is the first international invite. As the first Hearthstone 3-star Master and overall best player in the world, it is no surprise to see Hunterace make another international showing.

Fr0zen

Next up is Frank “Fr0zen” Zhang. Even though he has more recently focused on casting, Fr0zen is still one of the best-known players in the Hearthstone scene, finishing second in the 2017 Hearthstone World Championship where he barely lost against Tom60229.

Thijs

Last of the invites we know of so far is the streamer, Thijs “Thijs” Molendijk. Thijs is one of the biggest Hearthstone personalities out there. Therefore, it is no surprise to see him get invited to the All-Stars event. Coming off his recent win at the 2018 CN vs. EU Championship, he has a great shot at pulling off another great performance at the Hearthstone All-Star Invitational 2018.

Taiwan, Hong Kong, and Macau Invites

Kin0531

First is Lo “Kin0531” Tsz Kin, a player less known to the western scene, but with a great record of competitive play. Having participated in four international tour stops and the Asia-region playoffs, Kin is a name we are sure to see more of in the future. He is best known for his recent victory in the 2018 Asian Games Hearthstone Tournament against “Jothree.”

Tom60229

Next up, 2017 Hearthstone World Champion, Chen “Tom60229” Wei Lin. Without a doubt, Tom60229 is one of the most known players in the Asian Hearthstone scene.

Virtual

The last invite announced today was last year’s All-Star Invitational Champion, Virtual. We know very little about Virtual, though it will always be good for the scene to see the champion return to defend their title.

The three-day event will be broadcast live on YouTube in multiple languages. More information on the channels that are going to be used to broadcast the event is to be announced at a later date.

For more coverage of the Hearthstone scene, have a look at our comparison of Ice Block vs. Time Out!

Image credit: Blizzard Inc.

I’m Arend Zijdenbos, from the Netherlands. Gamer for as long as I can remember. for the past 5 years I competed and coached Hearthstone at the top level . My current focus is to expand further in the esports writing scene.

I currently also write for Gamersensei, Dignitas, Team Genji, Montreal Gaming and Kyoto Esports for all kinds of Esports related articles.