RLRS Rival Series RLCS

In the first-ever season to allow Rocket League Rival Series (RLRS) teams to earn direct promotion to the Rocket League Championship Series (RLCS) by finishing first in the league, Team BDS and Omni Nation have managed to do so for the EU and NA regions respectively. RLCS Season 10 will mark the debut for every one of these Rocket League players. Meanwhile, the RLRS teams that ended in second and third place will fight for an RLCS spot against the eighth and ninth place finishers in the RLCS in two weeks.

Team BDS promotes to EU RLCS Season 10

The part-Spanish, part-French roster of Swiss organization Team BDS earned their promotion in the final week of RLRS. With an 8-1 record, Team BDS – consisting of Alenjandro “ClayX” Carbonero, Marc “MaRc_By_8” Domingo, and Evan “M0nkey M00n” Rogez – had a very successful season. It ended in spectacular fashion, too.

The impressive roster of second-place finishers RCD Espanyol actually did have that same 8-1 record. However, BDS had a significantly better game-win differential with +19 over Espanyol’s +7. Still, Espanyol will now try to secure an RLCS spot in the play-offs, and it won’t be easy for their opponents.

Each player of Team BDS is a long-time talent that has repeatedly made a name for themselves in the (semi-)professional Rocket League scene. As a Frenchman, M0nkey_m00n is part of an already incredibly strong country filled with the best players. However, Spain has recently been on the uprise. It’s home to four of the six players in the top 2 of RLRS, as well as Team Endpoint’s Nacho “Nachitow” Gimenez in the RLCS. ClayX and MaRc_By_8 are already guaranteed a spot for next season’s RLCS, and more Spanish players will likely join them through the promotion/relegation tournament.

RLCS9 RLRS EU Standings

Omni Nation promotes in NA

On the other side of the pond, Omni Nation will make their RLCS debut next season. This team consists of three completely unknown names in the RLCS: Oliver “Percy.” Kenneth Ortiz, Chris “majicbear “Avecedo, and Daniel “jordan” Bholla. These three are now about to take on the top of the world.

This one came down to the wire in the final week. With a 7-2 record, they managed to take the top of the league over second-place finishers Charlotte Phoenix, who long-time watchers may recognize as Jaime “Karma” Bickford’s team.

RLCS9 RLRS NA Standings

After Omni Nation won their last game of the season, all they needed was for Charlotte Phoenix to lose their final game. And while Charlotte has looked good throughout the season, it was not enough to defeat Gabriel “CorruptedG” Vallozzi’s Chaos Esports Club. Charlotte ended up losing their RLCS spot based on a single goal.

But as that team fell to the fifth-place finishers in an extremely tense game 5 overtime, Omni Nation could sigh in relief and scream in joy for their guaranteed promotion. Now the question is whether they are also good enough to take on the likes of NRG, SpaceStation, G2, and the Soniqs.

Speaking of which, the RLCS top 6 is playing the regional championships this weekend, and you don’t want to miss the culmination of the season. Tune in to the NA RLCS Regionals over on Twitch and YouTube later today, March 28, at 12:00 p.m. PST / 3:00 p.m. EST / 5:00 p.m. CET. The European regionals begin on Sunday at 9:00 a.m. PST / 12:00 p.m. EST / 6:00 p.m. CEST. Keep in mind that the European daylight savings goes into effect this weekend, so the time difference on Saturday will be different than on Sunday.

Michael Kloos
Dutch football (soccer) and Rocket League fan, spending much of my time watching the former, and playing and watching the latter. Also an avid fantasy/scifi reader and writer. I spend most of my time trying not to be in the real world.

U.S. Marine Corps partners with Geekletes to promote esports education

Previous article

Singularity dominates in Rocket League European Invitational grand final

Next article

You may also like