League of Legends Darius

The 2020 League of Legends Pro League (LPL) is set to start on Jan. 13. The regular season of the Chinese professional league’s ninth season will run for a total of 10 weeks and will field a total of 17 different competitive teams.

All-day, every-day is the new LPL motto

In years prior, the LPL often had games played six days a week throughout the regular season. Each day, they broadcasted up to two best-of-three matches. Sadly, with this schedule, some matches wouldn’t end up being broadcast throughout the season, usually those of the lower-ranking teams.

However, with the LPL’s new schedule, there will be games scheduled every day of the 10-week season, Monday to Sunday. Because of this change in schedule, each of the teams now plays up to two best-of-three series each week.

Week 1’s notable matches

LPL Week 1 Schedule

Matches will start at 5:00 p.m. Shanghai local time / 10:00 a.m. CET / 4:00 a.m. ET / 1:00 a.m. PT. The most notable match of the first week takes place on Jan. 13. There, former world champions Invictus Gaming will face off against the current world champions, FunPlus Phoenix, in the first match of the day. Another big match on Jan. 16 will see the team that placed second in the recent Demacia cup, Edward Gaming, face off against the new roster of Victory Five.

The final series of week 1 that Chinese fans are looking out for comes at the end of the week, on Jan. 18, where the winner of the Demacia Cup, Royal Never Give Up, will face the new roster of Bilibili Gaming. This match is expected to start two hours after the other series of that day. JD Gaming will play the complete roster of team World Elite, who could not compete with their roster at the Demacia cup due to visa issues.

All matches can be watched on the various Chinese broadcasting platforms, but the English broadcast of the league can be found on Twitch. Do note that not all matches will be streamed with English casters, though the LPL production team wants this to happen in the future.

For more League of Legends coverage, be sure to check out the upcoming release of Teamfight Tactics for mobile platforms.

Arend Zijdenbos
I'm Arend Zijdenbos, from the Netherlands. Gamer for as long as I can remember. My current focus is further improving at esports journalism. At the moment, I write for Daily Esports and work on a project with Gamersensei surrounding improvement in League of Legends. For more of me, find me on twitter @Azijdenbos.

Smooya becomes a free agent as syrsoN and k1to join BIG Clan

Previous article

Team Liquid faces visa issues for Broxah, Shernfire, and Cain

Next article

You may also like